The Free Style Writing Challenge

I was nominated by Prakash Hegade to attempt a free style writing challenge. It turned out to be as interesting and fun as it sounded. No wonder, I did it right after the nomination which is something I rarely do,especially if you have exams staring at your face!

So here are Rules I had to follow:

  1. Open an MS Word document
  2. Set a stop watch or your mobile to 5 minutes or 10 minutes whichever challenge you think you can beat.
  3. You topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH A TIMER.
  4. Fill the word doc with as much words as you want. once you began writing do not stop even to turn.
  5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spellings and grammar with spell check in MS WORD (it is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules)
  6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation and capitals. However if you do, it would be best.
  7. At the end of your post write down ‘No. Of words =_____’ so that we would have an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
  8. Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new Topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nominations (at least 5 bloggers).

I WAS GIVEN THE TOPIC: “THE TRAIN JOURNEY

Trains,whenever I think of them,my mind instantly goes to thepeaceful rocking of the sleeper seat and the rhythm that induces sleep!

Train journeys are fun , looking out the windows, reading books, enjoying some quality family time because now there wouldn’t be a TV or some office work  to distract you. I never forget the varied journeys where I made friends in a train, the  fun we had as kids! It used to be so easy to go over to the kid sitting on the seat in front of you and call them over to play. But sadly those friendships never lasted more than the journey itself.

Oh well, sitting in a train used to be quite interesting, but  the part to climb onto the third berth used to be even more scary and challenging. And then sleeping with a fear that what if I fall down from here?

Haha,being a child with innocvent thouyghts, away from problems and stress of adult life-it was awesome. But as a child, I did use to worry and keep a vigilant eye on the luggage we used to keep under the seats,secured by chain locks,especially at night,when everyone was snoring out loud. You never know!

Well,its been a while I travelled by trains or travelled anywhere far but it’s a ride to remember -always!

Timer Set: 10 Minutes
Total Number of Words: 221
Comments: There is a spacing issue at one place and two typos.( I WISH I could go back and correct that :P)

Nominations:

PerfervidDreams

The extra mile

Kritika Vashist

Pratik Akkawar

Salwa

Darshit Badiyani

Oscar Relentos

Piyush singh

Prateek Kohli

Aditi

Nimmi

Upen Reddy

Amrit

Archita Rai

Faraday’s candle

Now you all,here is your topic: ” Mischief “

I hope you enjoy completing this challenge, as I did. Good day!

23 comments

  1. impeccablemua · May 9, 2015

    I can’t believe this is going viral… im loving it !!! Every post i read from the nominees of my nominees and the nominees of theirs and it goes on. Its so much fun… you have written up a good piece. I am guessing you are from India. I can only imagine your writing through my experience of watching Indian movies hehe.. . Cheers

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hargun Wahi · May 9, 2015

      Hehe.. so this happens only in India-confirmed! 😉
      And thanks a lot @impeccable’mua
      I’m glad you enjoyed reading the outcome. And indeed its an enjoyable challenge!
      It was fun doing it 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. AdiC · May 9, 2015

    You’ve done a fair job of it! I wonder if I could do any good :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hargun Wahi · May 9, 2015

      Thanks a lot Aditi!
      This one’s quick to do and fun challenge. I’m sure you would do it quite well & enjoy it too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Prakash Hegade · May 9, 2015

    Ha ha.. Nice one. The typical train journey we all experience. And doing it when exams ahead, great.
    I enjoyed reading it. You have passed on a nice topic as well.
    Do well in your exams. Happy exams! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hargun Wahi · May 9, 2015

      Yes, typical Indian train journey, like @impeccable’mua noticed : p
      And it was fun & a much needed break from studying as well!
      I found it interesting and ten minutes wasn’t a lot of time, so dared to attempt it but who knew it would take about an hour later just posting the same!
      Nonetheless I enjoyed reliving all those train journeys again !
      And thanks for your wishes… much needed!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Kritika Vashist · May 9, 2015

    You have written really well. I make a lot of errors if I write something like an essay. Great attempt!
    Also, Thank you, Hargun, for this challenge. I really enjoyed writing it. Loved the word you gave.
    Following all rules, I wrote something, will share it now.

    Thanks, again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hargun Wahi · May 9, 2015

      Hey Kritika!
      I’m glad you loved the topic I gave you all & enjoyed the challenge. Makes my efforts fruitful 🙂
      And thanks a lot for your hearty comment & appreciation. I am looking forward to reading your work!
      Happy blogging 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Prateek Kohli · May 9, 2015

    Look who’s back with a bang to the blogging.world ! 😀
    Your posts never fail to take the reader on a journey. This time the journey was full of nostalgia with a tinge of humor, and ofcourse, the brilliance with which it is written in so less time 🙂
    I am honored to get this challenge and just posted what came out as the result. Do have a look 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hargun Wahi · May 10, 2015

      Hey!
      Yup I’m back but not in full form yet.. :p
      That would be after I’m free from the exam stress 🙂
      And Its great to know that you enjoyed the ‘journey’. Hope you continue doing so!
      I’m glad you accepted the challenge and I’m going over to your blog to see how it has come out!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Nimmi · May 10, 2015

    Oh wow!! You are nice 🙂 Enjoyed your train journey 😉 Congratulations, dear and thank you for remembering me 🙂 Will check with my schedule and let you know 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Darshith Badiyani · June 2, 2015

    Train journey are always different 😀 we hope that they will be the same dull thing but it always turns out to be different & interesting 😀 Thank you Hargun for the nominations !! So sorry for writing so late 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hargun Wahi · June 3, 2015

      No worries!
      I’m glad you accepted and did a great job at that!
      Happy blogging & wish you a rollicking train journeys ahead 😉

      Like

  8. Pingback: Free Style writing – Part I – Mischief.. | Smiles here & Smiles there!!
  9. Pingback: Righteousness | From the Soul to the nib of the Pen
    • Hargun Wahi · June 14, 2015

      It is a great post with an
      inspiring quote. Thumbs up!
      Would complete the challenge soon 🙂

      Like

  10. Rangelz · July 1, 2015

    haha same here. As a child, I used to be scared of the upper berth. But later I used to fight for it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hargun Wahi · July 1, 2015

      Hehe.. Did you? Same pinch.
      Such small things definitely make train journeys memorable.
      And Glad to hear from you! 😉
      Good day 💐

      Like

  11. Mushfiqua Fatima · July 24, 2015

    Wow! Really interesting!

    Like

How was it? Leave a Reply!